top of page

Library News and Updates

Angels hale - square.jpg

Mindfulness and Sound Therapy with Sarah Daigle

February 26 and March 25th @ 5:30 First Come, First Serve

Join Sarah for an hour of mind-body awareness and self-healing practice, utilizing guided breathing and meditation techniques, accompanied with the nurturing sounds of Crystal and Tibetan Singing Bowls, Vocal Soul Songs and more.

Bring a yoga mat and blanket or something warm to keep you relaxed.

Arrival time is 5:00 - 5:25. Doors close at 5:25.

MCC Job Search Program.png

How to Prepare for a Job Fair February 27 @ 10:00

Looking for a job? Need some help? Join the Springvale Career Center staff for an informal question and answer session and learn how to attend a job fair with confidence. We'll talk about what questions to ask, what to bring, and more.! Click here to register!

How to Complete an Online Job Application March 26 @ 10:00 (Click here to register)

Join staff from the Springvale Career Center to learn how to complete an online job application. Understand what information you will need to provide and how to locate a posting, create a job seeker account, and work through a multi-step application. Learn troubleshooting tips and effective ways to follow up with an employer. Participants are encouraged to bring log in information for an email account. Participants who do not have an email account will be helped to develop one during the session. 

Winter Reading Program.jpg

2024 Winter Reading Bundles

 

It’s time to Bundle Up and Read! From January 2 to March 2 children are invited to sign up for the Winter Reading Program. There are special bundles on a theme, like snow or trucks, waiting to be checked out! Bundles include a few books, plus puzzles, activities, or crafts. Children ages 2-13 can participate whenever the library is open in this non-competitive reading program. Miss Sheila has made several new bundles for this year's program!

 

Thank you to the Nora Roberts Foundation for sponsoring this winter reading program.

Kids with Capes

Children's Activities

Sheila has so many things planned for you.  Storytimes, crafts, and coding, oh MY!  Click here to go to our Youth Services page for all the fun happenings.

Click here for the list of programs a
nd times!

looking for jane cover.png

Sam's Book Club Next Meeting is on March 6th @ 5:30 pm.

March's Book is Looking for Jane by Heather Marshall

 

This “clever and satisfying” (Associated Press) #1 international bestseller for fans of Kristin Hannah and Jennifer Chiaverini follows three women who are bound together by a long-lost letter, a mother’s love, and a secret network of women fighting for the right to choose—inspired by true stories.

This book group meets on the first Wednesday of each month at 5:30 pm (except July).  Sam will pick a shortlist of books to choose from for the next discussion to be voted on. 

Haven't finished the book?  Don't worry - come anyway!

Gourmet Meal

Cook the Book is on Tuesday, March 12th @ 5:30 (PROGRAM FULL)

Join Dawn and our amazing group of participants for the Cook the Book program. Come in and choose a recipe from this month's cookbook and make it to bring to the gathering. You bring your own flatware, plate, glass, etc.

It's super fun. Come sign up for your recipe today!

We now have passes to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens and the Children's Museum + Theatre of Maine.  Thank you to Town Square Realty for sponsoring them!

Call or visit the Library to book your pass.

Town Square Realty.jpg
Children's museum and theatre of maine.jpg
Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens.jpg
Balls of Knitting Thread

Knit Lits Tuesdays 3:00 - 4:30

Join Dawn for this fun fiber arts group. Bring your knitting, crocheting or any other fiber art.

springvale library logo.png

Our Annual Appeal is in the Mail

Dear Library Patrons,
It's that time of year again that you may find an envelope in the mail inviting you to contribute to our Annual Appeal. This is our most crucial fundraiser to help support the Library, as we rely on the funds raised from the Annual Appeal to do all sorts of things, like buying the new books that you love, organizing programs that you're interested in, supporting our vibrant children's programming, and making sure the lights stay on!
Please consider donating to our Annual Appeal - no amount is too small, and we appreciate all that you can do to support our Library! If you did not get an envelope in the mail, we have extra at the front desk.
 You may also donate online using this link: 
From the bottom of our hearts, THANK YOU!

Springvale library's.png

Our Spice Library is Famous!

Have you heard about our spice library? We have 33 spices that you can "check out"! If you'd like to try a spice before you buy, come on in and get a tablespoon or what you need. We'll put the spice in a plastic cup with a lid and you can take it home to try something new. We also have a few recipes here that you can try or check out one of our 641.5 cookbooks.  Click here to see list of spices in our Spice Library

Book Delivery.png

Homebound?  We Deliver!

Did you know that if you are homebound we deliver we are happy to deliver books, movies, or audiobooks to you? We can pick out some books or you can let us know what you'd like to read. Delivery is usually the same day and we can pick up your returns when we stop by.

If you have any questions at all, please call the Library at 207-324-4624.

Computer Learning

Need Tech Help?

 

Call to schedule a technology help session with Lesley.  If you're having trouble with Zoom, email, or anything else, we're happy to help.  Should you require a little guided help, with your permission, I can log into your computer after I walk you through a short setup. 

 

Don't let Zoom-intimidation keep you from connecting with your loved ones!

Discover Something New to Read

Not sure what to read next?  Try some of these tools and search by author, title, series, or just browse around.

Novelist:  https://library.digitalmaine.org/  will give you read-a-likes and ideas. When you get to Digital Maine Library from this link just scroll down to Novelist 

 

Fantastic Fiction - Find what the next book is in a series and follow your favorite authors! (This one is a staff favorite!)


Goodreads - Meet Your Next Favorite book  

Literature Map  - Have an author you like, Literature Map gives you a literature cloud based on the similarity of the author you like.  

 

What Should I Read Next - Click to find a new adventure

 

BookBrowse - Great discoverability tools!

StoryGraph- StoryGraph helps readers find their next read based on their mood, interests, and more!

bottom of page